Charlotte Hornets Starter Jacket: An Appreciation

(Click Image for Article)

(Microsoft Paint Annotations by Sarah Larimer)

About Rembert Browne

NYC via ATL //// rembert.browne@gmail.com 500daysasunder.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Rando, Really Rando. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Charlotte Hornets Starter Jacket: An Appreciation

  1. Benjamin Selznick '07 says:

    Hello,
    On behalf of, well, myself and any other Dartmouth grads to read and love this – fantastic, fantastic stuff!!! I couldn’t agree more with your 10 list and benefited from all these things – especially SI for Kids! I would check the mailbox every day until it came.

    But I would be remiss if I did not make a confession – I owned this: http://thumbs3.ebaystatic.com/m/mwaFGzf8MQIlqmH-jiA_WEQ/140.jpg. That’s right – growing up in the suburbs of NYC was cold so we couldn’t wear the on-court jackets year round. But we could wear Starter winter jackets with those velcro flaps in the front. I know I had at least this one and a Knicks one at some point…probably a Bulls one thrown in there too around ’93. But always and forever, the teal and purple was the best.

    Big up to this article and congrats on the Grantland piece. That website has changed everything in the best ways possible!

    B

  2. Marcus says:

    Yo man, I’m from Atlanta too, grew up there in the 90s, and was wondering what this article was talking about…until I googled a photo and realized I wore that jacket for at least half of my adolescent life. Wow, that and Sports Illustrated for kids–so good.

  3. Sean says:

    Pretty good post in Grantland, but the unnecessary hate towards the city of Charlotte was really stupid. Do your research on Charlotte and if you still find that it’s a bad place, then make a hateful comment. You see, I have lived most of my life in Charlotte and I’ve never heard anyone make a comment like that towards the city. Everyone loves Charlotte. That’s why everyone wants to live there. That’s also why it’s one of the fastest growing cities in the country. In fact, I’ve lived in Atlanta and Charlotte and both are great cities (see how it’s done, Rembert? You don’t have to be a hater, there’s another way).

    If Rembert had done the research, he’d realize that the Hornets dominated all NBA merchandise in the 90’s. Not just starter jackets.

    With that said, I had a Hornets starter jacket too.

Leave a Reply

