RUSSIAN SPIESSSSSS

Item: CCCP Olympic Hockey Jersey
Purchased: Fall 2009 — Brooklyn, NY
Worth to Me:
$200
Price:
$6

My favorite thing about this jersey is not the fact that it’s from the Commy Russian era, nor the fact that I haven’t the first clue on how to pronounce #8’s last name (assuming “8” translates to “8” in Russian).

It’s the sleeves.  It’s hard to tell from the picture, but those aren’t long sleeves, short sleeves, or three-quarter lengths sleeves.

I am the proud owner of a 5/7ths length shirt.  Yes, 5/7ths.  As we all know, a shirt that was designed to cover 71.428571% of your arm is extremely rare in this day and age. Not only does it fit like a gem, it really accentuates the exposed lower third of my forearm that is out for all to see.

There’s an area of NYC called Brighton Beach that is roughly 7000% Russian.  Without thinking about it, I began a trip to the neighborhood with this jersey on.  Once I realized what I was doing, I knew that one of two things would result from this decision:

1) I would get the utmost respect from every Russian-American who saw me.
2) I would be assassinated beat down

As option 2 became more and more likely, I promptly went back home and changed shirts. One day, I will muster the courage to wear it out in the neighborhood, but until then I only wear it amongst friends and when I watch Miracle.

About Rembert Browne

NYC via ATL //// rembert.browne@gmail.com 500daysasunder.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RUSSIAN SPIESSSSSS

  1. Jon says:

    “Larionov.”

Leave a Reply

