Black Corner: Result(s)

On Monday, I described an aspect of my room that needed to be shown off: My Black Corner. In this short post, I said two very important things:

1) “If you don’t have a Black corner in your apartment, you aren’t living.”

2) “Email rembert.browne@gmail.com with a picture of yours by Thursday at 10pm and tell me if you are Black, Jewish, or other”

Over the course of this week, I learned one very important fact about the readers of this blog.

Very few of you are living.

I was shocked at the low turnout of this competition. And when I say low, I mean one participant.

Oh, and when I say “low”, I actually mean “LOWE”, since the one participant was none other than the freestyle king himself, James Byron Lowe.

2006

Present Day

Jimmy is the only person that sent me anything about his Black corner, which says a few things about Jimmy.

1) Loves Black People
2) Respects Black People

I’m forced to assume that everyone else that read this post and didn’t send me anything neither loves nor respects Black people and the corners dedicated to them.

Blacks and Jews. Forever sticking together, like T.I. and felony charges.

Anyway, before I show you parts of his Black corner, snippets of a few correspondences between Young James and I over the course of the week:

“I’m Jewish”
“I fall asleep 90% of nights listening to lectures about the cosmos by Neil Degrasse Tyson who, as you know, is black.”
“I wanted to let you know that I’ve been having an office black corner (OBC) since long before your call to action”
“I JUST TOLD MASTER P WHERE THE FIFTH FLOOR CONFERENCE ROOM IS. HE IS ALSO SHOUTED OUT ON MY HIP HOP HONORS POSTER. THAT’S HISTORY. SOMEONE ON YOUR BLACK CORNER IN YOUR BLACK CORNER.”

The kid is perfect.

Jimmy’s Black Corner:

Oh look, it’s the first (and only) Black Ivy League President, Ruth Simmons, and Dominique Wilkins.

THAT’S HOW YOU MAKE AN OFFICE BLACK CORNER 

Jimmy, you win. The prize: A coupon for 10 free Frosty’s from Wendy’s. I’m next-daying it via Fed-Ex. You’re Welcome.

To everyone else, I’m dissapointed. Step your game up, February is right around the corner.

About Rembert Browne

NYC via ATL //// rembert.browne@gmail.com 500daysasunder.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Rando, Really Rando. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Black Corner: Result(s)

  1. Jimmy Lowe says:

    PS. KABALLAH Spelled backwards is HALLABAK. Coincidence? I think not.

Leave a Reply

